Mini Macaron Review

Whenever I go into New York City with my sister, she expects a stop at one of the two Laduree shops which are located in SoHo or Madison.

The SoHo location is actually the Laduree Tea House where you can sit down and order actual meals as well as macarons and tea. I’ll save that for another blog post, but just for the heads up: the french toast is unbelievable.

Today we stopped into the Madison location because we had spent the day at The Metropolitan Museum of Art and its only a couple blocks down the avenue.

Although the store is small, it’s bustling with tourists (even on a Monday) so it can be nerve wracking as soon as the woman behind the counter asks you which flavors you want to try and there’s a huge line waiting for you to decide.

So here’s a guide to some of the flavors I’ve tried, as well as my favorites to make your macaron mission a little bit easier!

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Macaron:  a light, often brightly colored sandwich cookie consisting of two rounded disks made from a batter of egg whites, sugar, and almond flour surrounding a sweet filling (as of ganache, buttercream, or jam)

Chocolate: Even though its such a basic flavor, the chocolate macaron really is the best one. The filling is quite gooey, almost like fudge, but stiff enough that it won’t melt.

Coffee: As the name suggests, this macaron tastes very potently of coffee or espresso. I’m a coffee flavor lover, however I’m not sure if I would get this one again. After half of the macaron, I was sick of the flavor.

Marie-Antoinette Tea: When I saw that my favorite Laduree tea was now a macaron flavor, I was so enthralled that I purchased two. After lunch, I nearly tore open the bag to swallow them whole and then I realized…some flavors just don’t make good desserts. The floral flavor was overwhelming and took over the entire taste of the cake, so much so that I couldn’t even eat the second one. It felt like eating a stick of perfume, or spraying it directly into your mouth.

Vanilla: This is one of my sister’s favorite flavors, as she likes the real vanilla taste. No sweet candy flavor here, this is pure and slightly bitter vanilla. I’m not a fan of this one, but I’m more of a chocolate person to begin with so I supposed I’m biased.

Rose Petal: The same concept as the Marie Antoinette Tea macaron; if floral flavors are something you love, this one is probably delicious to you, but for me it’s just too much.

Marshmallow Strawberry Candy: Besides Chocolate, this one has got to be my favorite. I believe they are limited edition or seasonal, at the shop they were displayed separately on a cake stand. These ones have a strawberry flavored outer shell that has crystalized sugar sprinkled on top and a marshmallow filling. The marshmallow provides you with the perfect gooey inside to combat with the flaky outer crust. I could eat a whole box of these for sure.

Processed with VSCO with f2 presetPeach: I am a lover of all things peach: the color, the fruit, the flavor, so I thought I would love this macaron, however, I was so wrong. The outer shell of the macaron tastes like roses and flowers, not quite peachy and while the jam filling was quite good, it was more of an apricot flavor than peach.

Pistachio: Pistachio ice cream is my favorite flavor, but when my friend picked this one out on her birthday trip, I was a little skeptical. In a turn of events I loved it, and she had to pass. The pistachio flavor was similar to ice cream in the nutty sweetness, but not salty.

Raspberry: Another one of my favorites, this flavor is fruity and sweet with a raspberry jam filling. Nice and cooling in the hot summer months, so if this flavor is available snatch it up!

image1-2.JPG

It’s on my bucket list to try every Laduree macaron flavor they have, a pricey challenge in itself, but one that I’m happy to spend my money on. If you find flavors you love, they really are worth the $2.80 price tag.

Oh! And to save a little extra money, ask for your macarons in a bag instead of a box, it’s a couple bucks cheaper!

Which flavors have you tried?

 

One thought on “Mini Macaron Review

Leave a comment